Old Red Old Ten North Dakota Scenic Byway | Things to do

Travel the Old Red Old Ten Scenic Byway for many exciting things to see and do.  Load up the family or take a trip on your own to explore the "Other Freeway!"

Rough Rider Statue

Intersection of Main Street and Third Avenue
Mandan, ND

Lat:46.8257  Lon:-100.894

The "Theodore Roosevelt Roughrider" statue portrays North Dakota's most famous adopted son as colonel of the regiment he commanded in the Spanish-American War. The sculptor, Alexander Phimister Proctor, was born in Canada and raised in Colorado.  Alexander Proctor was a contemporary of Frederic Remington and Charles Russell. He dedicated his life to creating monumental statues throughout the United States. Alexander Proctor met Theodore Roosevelt at the 1893 World's Fair.  Roosevelt commissioned Proctor to make several sculptures for the White House during his presidency. According to the Inventory of American Sculpture, the Mandan sculpture is a smaller version of the one commissioned by Dr. Henry Waldo Coe for the City of Portland. Coe met Theodore Roosevelt while living in the Dakota Territory, and the two formed a long-lasting friendship. Dr. Coe was Mandan's first elected mayor and represented the city's residents in the last territorial legislature in 1885.  While he commissioned the original statue for Portland, he later presented this smaller version to the City of Mandan.  The statue was designed with the approval of the Roosevelt family.  Edith and Kermit Roosevelt found the uniform Roosevelt wore at San Juan Hill rummaging through family trunks, and furnished it to Proctor to use in casting the statue. Roosevelt's widow Edith and all five of his surviving children and spouses attended the dedication. The statue was cast in 1922 at the Roman Bronze Foundry in New York and dedicated on July 2, 1924. It was originally installed along Main Street in the center of the eastside depot park. It was moved to its current location centered on the intersection of Main Street and Third Avenue in 1930 in conjunction with the construction of the current depot in 1930.